Latest News

Announcing the winner of Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts Best Film Award for 2022

We're pleased to announce the winner of this year's Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts Wellington UNESCO City of Film Award for Best Film ($3000 cash prize) is Smog, directed by Alex Liu.

The award was presented to Liu at The Roxy Cinema, Wellington on Saturday 13 August following a screening of the competition’s six finalists’ films. The competition was judged by a three-member jury featuring broadcaster Claudette Hauiti, screenplay writer Tere Harrison and Māoriland producer Matilda Poase.

The jury said: “A multi-layered non-linear approach to a challenging kaupapa of tukino wāhine, me tukino whenua (domestic violence). The treatment of taiao and wahine were inextricably entwined and to abuse one is to abuse the other.”

The jury also awarded a Special Mention to the film A Morning with Aroha, written and directed by Nicholas Riini.

The jury said: “The joyous spirit of aroha is shared by a kotiro who experiences bullying. But aroha conquers all.”

In addition to Liu and Riini, Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts film competition’s 2022 finalists are Karin Williams (Burning of the Gods), Morag Brownlie (Perfect Storm), Jade Jackson (Raids), and Tajim Mohammed-Kapa (The Difference Between Pipi & Pūpū).

The six finalist films were selected by Ngā Whanaunga

Continue reading…

Meet the Filmmakers - Wellington
Filmmakers discussing their films in Wellington include Hallelujah: Leonard Cohen, a Journey, a Song directors Dan Geller and Dayna Goldfine 

We're delighted to present introductions and Q&As with filmmakers at selection screenings in Te Whanganui-a-Tara Wellington for NZIFF 2022.

You can hear filmmakers and other creatives involved with the films, discuss the film and their work at these session.

A Boy Called Piano – The Story of Fa'amoana John Luafutu
Q&As with director Nina Nawalowalo together with Fa'amoana John Luafutu, Matthias Luafutu and other members of the Luafutu aiga and creatives involved with making the film.
Tue 9 Aug 6.15pm (Roxy Cinemas)
Wed 10 Aug 11.45am (Roxy Cinemas)

Geoff Dixon: Portraits of Us

A Q&A with directors Glenis Giles & Clare O'Leary.
Sat 6 Aug 4.00pm (Roxy Cinemas)

A Q&A with directors Fergus Grady & Noel Smyth follows the film
Sat 13 Aug 3.15pm (Embassy Theatre)

Hallelujah: Leonard Cohen, a Journey, a Song 
Q&As with directors Dan Geller & Dayna Goldfine follows the film
Mon 8 Aug 6.00pm (Embassy Theatre)
Wed 10 Aug 6.00pm (Light House Cuba)

Q&A with filmmakers
Sat 13 Aug 6.00pm (Roxy Cinemas)
Sun 14 Aug 11.00am (Light House Cuba)

Introduction by director Tearepa Kahi with cast and crew attending the screening
Thu 4 Aug (Embassy Theatre)

New Zealand's Best 2022
Q&A with filmmakers
Wed 10 Aug 6.15pm

Continue reading…

Fire of Love

Wellington, we're excited to announce encore screenings for the following popular films. Get in quick and secure your tickets before they sell out!

Monday 15 August

6.15pm Marcel the Shell with Shoes On (The Embassy)

6.15pm The Blue Caftan (Light House Cuba)

8.30pm Navalny (The Embassy)

8.45pm My Old School (Light House Cuba)

Tuesday 16 August:

6.00pm Hallelujah: Leonard Cohen, a Journey, a Song (The Embassy)

6.15pm My Old School (Roxy Cinema)

6.15pm Ali & Ava (Light House Cuba)

8.15pm Dual (Light House Cuba)

8.30pm Decision to Leave (The Embassy)

8.30pm Flux Gourmet (Roxy Cinema)

Wednesday 17 August

6.15pm Fire of Love (The Embassy)

6.30pm Kāinga (Roxy Cinema)

6.30pm Sick of Myself (Light House Cuba)

8.15pm Neptune Frost (Roxy Cinema)

8.30pm Triangle of Sadness (The Embassy)

Perianayaki, 2022

The winners of our 11th annual New Zealand’s Best short film competition’s jury-awarded prizes were announced this evening, with the accolades presented live following a sold-out screening of the five finalists’ films at ASB Waterfront in Tāmaki Makaurau.

Director Bala Murali Shingade’s film Perianayaki earned him both the Flicks Award for Best Short Film (a cash prize of $7500) and the Creative New Zealand Emerging Talent Award (a cash prize of $4000), an award presented to a fresh voice: filmmaking that gives life to stories of those less often represented in film, or that speaks to new or existing audiences in different ways. Perianayaki actor Jeyagowri Sivakumaran’s performance also earned a Special Mention.

The Auckland Live Spirit of The Civic Award (a cash-prize of $4000), awarded to a filmmaker whose work indicates the possibility of a feature made by them being of the stature and quality to open a Festival at Auckland’s The Civic in the future, was awarded to Trees directors Ben Bryan and Tom Scott. 

The awards were judged by a three-member jury featuring filmmaker and writer Tim Wong, filmmaker and past Best Short Film award-winner Chelsie Preston-Crayford and editor Steve Newall. 

“As a jury, we acknowledge

Continue reading…

Whānau Mārama New Zealand International Film Festival and the Australian High Commission present We Are Still Here filmmakers in discussion.

In order to move forward, we must first look back

We Are Still Here is a unique Indigenous film that interweaves eight powerful tales to tell a sweeping story of hope and survival.
To discuss the collaborative process behind the eight writing and directing teams that created this stand out anthology, Whānau Mārama New Zealand International Film Festival and the Australian High Commission are proud to present a discussion forum featuring special guests from the film – Toni Stowers, Megan Wilding, Chantelle Burgoyne and Renae Maihi.

Facilitator: Dale Corlett

Toni Stowers (Tainui, Samoan) began her career with theatrical agency HLA Management, where she developed a passion to work with stories and storytellers. Toni was part of the National Indigenous Television’s Commissioning team where she was able to further extend her knowledge and passion for Indigenous storytelling that leads the conversation, challenges perceptions and entertains. Since joining No Coincidence Media, Toni has produced her first short film, Closed Doors, written and directed by Hunter Page Lochard and Carter Fred Simpkin, featuring Wayne Blair; developed an 8 half hour comedy series The

Continue reading…