Latest News

Audience Choice Awards Winners Announced
Director Mika X's film Gurl wins the inaugural Ngā Whanaunga CineMāori Audience Award

Drum roll please ... announcing the winners of the Audience Choice awards for New Zealand’s Best and Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts.

The winner of the New Zealand’s Best Audience Choice Award is Daddy’s Girl (Kōtiro). Director Cian Elyse White will receive 25 per cent of the box office from the online screenings.

The winner of the Ngā Whanaunga CineMāori Audience Award is Gurl. Director Mika X receives the $1,000 cash award sponsored by CineMāori, the new online platform for Māori cinema.

The Audience Choice awards were decided by the combined votes from audiences at the in-cinema screenings at ASB Waterfront Theatre in Auckland, The Roxy Cinema in Wellington, and online audiences.

Previously announced were the winners of the jury prizes in New Zealand’s Best and Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts.

In New Zealand’s Best, the Creative New Zealand Jury Prize for Best New Zealand Short Film was awarded to Oranges & Lemons. Director Robyn Grace receives a cash prize of $4,000. The Madman Entertainment Emerging Talent Award was awarded to Daniel. Director Claire van Beek receives a cash prize of $2,000.

The Wellington UNESCO City of Film Award for Best Film in Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts is Money Honey.

Continue reading…

Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts Best Film Award Winner Announced

The Wellington UNESCO City of Film Award for Best Film in Ngā Whanaunga Māori Pasifika Shorts goes to Money Honey. Director Isaac Knights-Washbourn receives a cash prize of $3,000.

The award was announced on stage today following the screening of the films at The Roxy Cinema in Wellington.

The award was judged online by an international three-member jury: Elma Tataragic, screenwriter (God Exists, Her Name is Petrunya – NZIFF19) and head programmer of the Feature and Shorts Competitions – Sarajevo Film Festival (Sarajevo – UNESCO  City Of Film 2019); Meenakshi Shedde, renowned film critic and Berlin Film Festival delegate selector for South Asia from Mumbai (Mumbai – UNESCO City of Film 2019), and from Wellington Toi Whakaari New Zealand Drama School director and well-known New Zealand actor and arts professional Tanea Heke (Ngā Puhi).

The jury said: “A sensitively told story of enduring friendship – where hope and aroha and optimism live in spite of circumstances. Knights-Washbourn explores the tenacity of the human condition to see and create a positive narrative and space even when things are at a low point.”

The jury also made special mention of Kapaemahu by Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu, Dean Hamer and Joe Wilson.

Kapaemahu is an animated film which tells of

Continue reading…

Film Festival Announces 2020 Masterclasses With Renowned International and Local Guests
Jennifer Kent on the set of The Nightingale. Credit: Matt Nettheim

Leading international film directors and curators feature in two masterclasses during Whānau Mārama: New Zealand International Film Festival 2020.

The masterclasses, which this year will take place online, are designed for film industry practitioners and presented thanks to an Artistic Development Partnership with Creative New Zealand.

The two masterclasses are:

Saturday 1 August 11.00am: An Artist’s Journey from The Babadook to The Nightingale and Beyond Celebrated Australian film director Jennifer Kent in conversation with Whānau Mārama: New Zealand International Film Festival Director Marten Rabarts discusses her creative process through development and production of her landmark films.

Sunday 2 August: 11am: Archives and Film Museums. Treasure Chest or Mausoleum?

Film Archives play an essential role in preserving and restoring (inter)national film heritage but increasingly they also contribute to the creation of new films made from archive material such as They Call Me Babu and State Funeral in this year’s festival selection. Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision, New Zealand National Film Archive Chief Executive – Tumu Whakarae Honiana Love, with international guests Sandra Den Hamer, Director EYE Film Museum, The Netherlands, and Rajendra Roy, Chief Curator – Film, MoMa, Museum of Modern Art New York, in conversation with Marten Rabarts.

Festival Director Marten Rabarts said

Continue reading…

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern

Opening Night of the 2020 Festival was an incredible event beginning with an Online Opening Ceremony and featuring a special message from Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern. Watch it here

New Zealand's Best Shorts Award Winners Announced
Robyn Grace, jury member Pietra Brettkelly and Claire van Beek. Credit: Veronica McLaughlin

Congratulations to short filmmakers Robyn Grace and Claire van Beek who today were announced the winners of the ninth annual New Zealand’s Best short film competition. The winning shorts were announced on stage today following the screening of the films at ASB Waterfront Theatre in Auckland.

The Creative New Zealand Jury Prize for Best New Zealand Short Film at Whānau Mārama: New Zealand International Film Festival was awarded to Oranges & Lemons. Director Robyn Grace received a cash prize of $4,000.

Robyn says winning the award is "amazing and very unexpected. This is a very personal story and one which I have waited a long time to tell. It was crowd-funded and my entire family is up there in the credits."

The Madman Entertainment Emerging Talent Award was awarded to Daniel. Director Claire van Beek receives a cash prize of $2,000.
Claire, who has been a volunteer with the film festival for many years, says the award was exciting and acknowledges all the work from the cast and crew. "Filmmaking isn't done on your own and this is a celebration of the work by everyone." 
The awards were judged online by a five-member jury: Arts Laureate, renowned New Zealand filmmaker and

Continue reading…