Latest Galleries

On Saturday 6th August at ASB Waterfront Theatre, we watched the year’s best New Zealand short films as chosen by guest selector, Florian Habicht, and then awarded the winners of four Jury Awards in front of a sold out audience. The jury of three, filmmaker and writer Tim Wong, actor Chelsie Preston-Crayford and editor Steve Newall, selected the winner of the $7500 Flicks Best Short Film Award, the $4000 Creative New Zealand Emerging Talent Award and the $4000 Auckland Live Spirit of The Civic Award, and a Special Mention. The winners were: The Flicks Award for Best Short Film: Perianayaki. Directed by Bala Murali Shingade The Creative New Zealand Emerging Talent Award: Perianayaki. Directed by Bala Murali Shingade The Auckland Live Spirit of The Civic Award: Trees, directed by Ben Bryan and Tom Scott Perianayaki actor Jeyagowri Sivakumaran’s performance earned the Special Mention. Congratulations to the filmmakers of Perianayaki, and Trees, and their fellow finalists, Alistair MacDonald, Siobhan Marshall and Tom Furniss. The Audience Award, as voted by the public, will be awarded on the closing night of the festival in Wellington, Sunday 14 August. The winner of the audience vote takes away the Audience Award, consisting of 25 percent of the box office from NZIFF screenings in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin.

On Friday 5th August we celebrated Christchurch Opening Night 2022 at the Isaac Royal Theatre! Our opening night film was Tearepa Kahi's brilliant film Muru! The Isaac Royal Theatre was packed with NZIFF friends and whānau who enjoyed our sponsored food and drinks, celebrating being back at the Isaac and of course, Muru. Photography by The Heather & Doug Records.