2021 Galleries

We celebrated 2021 Arts Foundation Laureate and recipient of the Dame Gaylene Preston Award for Documentary Filmmakers Florian Habicht in Wellington with a special screening of his cult classic __Woodenhead__ at the first ever viewing of the new colourised version.

New Zealand's Best 2021 awards were presented at Embassy Theatre, Wellington on Wednesday 10 November. Four of the six finalist filmmakers joined us in-person, with filmmakers from two films joined us via Zoom. The Vista Group Award for Best Short Film was jointly awarded to When We Were Kids (dir: Josephine Stewart-Te Whiu) and Washday (dir:Kath Akuhata-Brown), the Auckland Live Spirit of The Civic Award went to Josephine Stewart-Te Whiu for When We Were Kids, and the Creative New Zealand Emerging Talent Award went to Awa Puna for Tūī. The jury comprised Annie Collins, Gaysorn Thavat and Matthew Liebmann.

Plenty of memories were shared at a special High Tea for the founding members of the Wellington Film Festival to mark the festival's 50th Jubilee. This was followed by a special screening of the Rainer Werner Fassbinder film __The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant__